StayDaddy Liftoff…

I am your friendly neighborhood stay-at-home dad.  I have three kids, ages 3, 5, and 8 years old and I am in my 6th year of home parenting – wow, I can’t believe it!  Realizing that I kind of feel like I am a professional at this point (at least by default according to my six years experience) but there is always a lot to learn.  Cooking, for example, I can always stand to learn more in that department.  In any event, I’ve seen a lot up to this point and the adventure is never ending!  This is by far the best job I’ve ever had, even with all of the headaches, hesitations, heartaches and near heart attacks.  I don’t get a salary but I feel like I’m earning my pay everyday.  I don’t get retirement savings but I’m doing what I would want to do when I retired!  Whenever I think about getting out of this line of work I think about what I would want to do if I only had one year left to live.  And guess what, I’d want to be at home raising my kids and spending as much time with them as possible.  How lucky I am to be doing what I want to do most, and all thanks be to the wife who brings home the bacon!

I’ve graduated from diapers and we’re moving toward gradeschool.  The game is changing, gone are the days whiling way the time while kids napped and nights spent in twin beds or even curled up in cribs trying to put little souls to bed.  Now we’re trying to manage emerging personalities and feeding and feeding and feeding these growing bodies.  My oldest son is beating me in chess, my daughter in kindergarten is whispering to her brothers about boys in her class, my youngest shuts the door when he goes to the bathroom and tells me he wants privacy.  I hope I can make some parents out there smile and I hope I can get some discussion going with this here blog scribble.  I’m not sure if dads look at things differently all the time, but the simple truth is that most house parents are moms and therefore I probably have some unique perspectives on parenting.  Who knows?  Let’s see where this leads us…

Leave a Reply

